Untitled Document

Archive for May, 2010

Annual Literary Prize Winners

Wednesday, May 12th, 2010

We would like to thank all the writers who submitted work for our 2010 annual literary prizes: the Beau Boudreaux Poetry Prize, the A. David Schwartz Fiction Prize, and the David B. Saunders Award for Creative Nonfiction. We received many, many well-crafted and intriguing submissions, so an incredible amount of thanks is due to our judges for their careful deliberations: Kathy Fagan for poetry, David Treuer for fiction, and Jesse Lee Kercheval for creative nonfiction.

It is our pleasure to announce this year’s winners, whose works will be published in our upcoming (and relatively mammoth) issue, due out within a month:

Haines Eason – Beau Boudreauz Poetry Prize for his collection of five poems

Roger Sheffer – A. David Schwartz Fiction Prize for “Shuttle”

Eson Kim – David B. Saunders Award for Creative Nonfiction for “Fixing Everything”

Again, the narrowing down of this year’s entries was as challenging as the reading of submissions was pleasurable. If you submitted to our annual literary prize contests, we thank you for doing so and we look forward to sending you our upcoming issue.

Please note that we are currently accepting entries for our 2011 annual literary prizes. You can click here for details. Judges will be announced during the fall.